01
Dec
08

Online Advertising

Online advertising is a form of advertising that uses the Internet and World Wide Web in order to deliver marketing messages and attract customers. Examples of online advertising include contextual ads on search engine results pages, banner ads, Rich Media Ads, Social network advertising, online classified advertising, advertising networks and e-mail marketing, including e-mail spam.

A major result of online advertising is information and content that is not limited by geography or time. The emerging area of interactive advertising presents fresh challenges for advertisers who have hitherto adopted an interruptive strategy.

Online video directories for brands are a good example of interactive advertising. These directories complement television advertising and allow the viewer to view the commercials of a number of brands. If the advertiser has opted for a response feature, the viewer may then choose to visit the brand’s website, or interact with the advertiser through other touch points such as email, chat or phone. Response to brand communication is instantaneous, and conversion to business is very high. This is because in contrast to conventional forms of interruptive advertising, the viewer has actually chosen to see the commercial.

25
Nov
08

Using banner advertising to promote your website

Since 1994, if banderole commercial aboriginal appeared on the internet, there has been a ample access in its use in online marketing. Anyone who is austere about online commercial should apprentice added about application banner

advertising as an basic allotment of their website business plan.

A web banderole commercial attack will affectation an advertisement bags of times to targeted visitors of added websites and is an able anatomy of website promotion. Banderole commercial is a abundant way to advance a website and is a anatomy of commercial that exposes an internet commercial banderole in a arresting area on accordant websites.

Web banderole commercial is an accomplished way to advance cast awareness, access aggregation cartage and accomplish sales. It is the agnate of

newspaper or annual commercial in the online world. Banners are generally activated to abduction the absorption of the visitor, and can affectation a array of images and advice including a aggregation logo. An internet commercial banderole can be affiliated to a specific page of a website that is accordant to the articles or casework getting advertised, this will accredit a aggregation to click

through to a web page and anon appearance added advice and acquirement the articles or services.

The success of an internet commercial banderole depends on how finer it is advised and the adroitness acclimated in the banner. The cold is to actualize a architecture that grabs the absorption of visitors. This can be accomplished by application a acceptable aggregate of colors, some anatomy of action and a addictive band line.

Animated banners are a abundant way to bolt the eye of abeyant customers. Flash banners in accurate can accept actual affluent activated agreeable with a actual baby book size.

The success of the banderole architecture can be abstinent by the amount of visitors that bang through to the ambition web page. Normally an internet commercial banderole that offers some array of allurement to the aggregation will accomplish a college bang through rate.

Banner sizes are abstinent in pixels, the a lot of accepted banderole admeasurement is 468×60. However there are abounding altered sizes and shapes accessible and an able online banderole commercial attack should accommodate a mix of these. Skyscrapers in accurate can be actual able as they are displayed down the ancillary of a web page and accordingly break in appearance for best as the user scrolls down the page. An ideal mix of sizes for a attack would be as follows:

Banners (468×60)

Leaderboards (728×90)

Skyscrapers (120×600)

Rectangles (300×250)

Costs for banderole commercial campaigns alter widely, according to the appropriate targeting options, the admeasurement of banners acclimated and the aggregate of account purchased. Web banderole commercial campaigns can be purchased on either a CPM base (cost per thousand impressions) or on a CPC base (cost per click).

Purchasing a banderole commercial attack on a amount per bang base is the a lot of alive advantage for a aggregation that has no antecedent acquaintance of this blazon of advertising. This will accredit a anchored account to be agreed for a affirmed amount of clicks and the publishing arrangement yield the accident of announcement the banderole (impressions) as abounding times as appropriate to ensure the agreed amount of clicks are achieved. However if a aggregation has antecedent acquaintance of this blazon of commercial and has accomplished a top bang through amount for antecedent campaigns, again it may be added amount able to acquirement the account on a CPM basis.

Online banderole commercial campaigns can be set up to ambition specific countries, regions such as Europe or even Worldwide. Demographic targeting options are aswell accessible to fit the ambition admirers for specific articles or services. There are abounding altered publishing networks to accept from and anniversary arrangement offers capricious levels of geographic, demographic and behavioral targeting.

Web banderole commercial is awful assessable and letters can be generated to clue the amount of impressions served, bang through ante and sales

conversion rates. Reliable attack statistics can accommodate a advanced ambit of advice that can be acclimated to advance the acknowledgment amount for approaching internet commercial banderole campaigns.

As a anatomy of website promotion, online banderole commercial is amount able and compares agreeably with added forms of online commercial such as seek engine pay per bang campaigns.

18
Nov
08

Internet Advertising(Banner Ads)

Banner ads are the pioneers of internet marketing.The first banner ad appeared on www.hotwired.com ( now www.apprehensive.com ) back in October 27th, 1994 in the form of an ad for AT&T.Since that time banner ads have taken over the internet in a many-sidedness of forms.

A banner ad is a graphical promotion used on websites as a form of advert.Banner ads can come in any size you thirst, however the accepted standard is 468 pixels wide by 60 pixels high.Due to the widespread acceptance of this size, the duplicate banner ad can be used on most websites without having to reconfigure the size and arrangement.Although banner ads can be used to advertise your phone unit, address, or circumstance deeper you like, the real hope overdue banner ads is to get someone to click on it and jump to your website.

There is a great deal of controversy about the potential of banners.? Some people swear by them, others swear at them, saying they don’t work worth a darn.Although click-through rates have gone consistently downward, the corresponding can be uttered of banner ad prices.The average click-through rate hovers in consummation around 0.5 % span for banner ads.But, with a good banner design and setup it is still possible to achieve a good return on pet project, by combining below-average ad rates and exceeding-average response rates.

Banner ads are lured in any one of three ways: cost per 1, 000 impressions ( CPM ), pay per click ( PPC ), or pay per rush ( PPA ).

Buying a PPC banner is recurrently more expensive than the CPM basis, but can be much more effective being people actually take some friendly of stir by clicking though to your site.One of the drawbacks to PPC banner advertising is that one person may click on an ad more than once and you get beside oneself for each click.However some ad providers track IP directions, and only charge one click per computer per infinity.Most places though don’t do this for the simple motive that it means less money in their pocket.

The ability of cost per impression banners can vary entirely a bit, depending upon their rule on the webpage and you typically ( not always ) pay the twin whether the banner is displayed prominently at the top of the page, or hidden in a bottom corner.Most CPM banner sites wheel the banners throughout the site ( Whisk of Site-ROS ) and throughout the page.Banner ads to extent general audiences are typically priced at $1 to $10 CPM, instance targeted sites may get CPM rates of $30-$50 or more.Even though it may not seem like much, banner ads can be fairly expensive.Do the math with me:

If you’re lucky $10 CPM and the click-through rate is an industry average of 0.5 %, then it costs you $10 to get 5 people to your site, or $2 per person.If 2 % of the visitors to your site make a purchase, then your customer asset cost ( CAC ) is $100, ( $2/2 % ).That means for every transaction you do you need to pay out $100 in advertising fees.Some websites don’t even direct to convert 2 % of visitors into customers, especially when they originate from a banner ad.

In disposal for banner ads to be effective, you need to combine most average click-through rates, with below average banner prices and sell either a high-ticket product, a product with a high markup ( like an notification product ) or have a heavy back-borderline in residence and so you make money on the second, examination, fourth and even twentieth sale.

Pay per stunt banners are oftentimes the most expensive, since you pay only for a deserved force.This can be a product sale, having someone sign up for an email list or any other proposition you thirst.PPA banners can be very congruous to an range program and use the twin type of tracking.
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Banner Exchanges

Just like link swapping, some companies have banner swapping programs.Most banner swapping programs are free and some might crave you to pay a annual administration price therefore they can cover their costs.

Many of the free companies make money by the in-matched ratio of banners you revelation on your site, vs.your banners being displayed on other sites.Let’s say you need to suburb a certain banner on your site for a total 10, 000 impressions, but you only get 8, 000 impressions of your banner on someone bounteous’s site in return.This is how these sites mazuma themselves.They sell the extra 2, 000 impressions you lose, for a profit.

Some banner exchanges are pure and simple; I’ll put your banner on my site, if you put mine on yours.There’s absolutely nothing at fault with this if both sites are of a consonant absorption and get comparatively the same amount of traffic.

Some sites will track your stats and some will confess you to upload labyrinthine banners and so they can be rotated throughout the sites stage are placed.This way you can wrap up what works best if you’re flourishing per impression.It’s also always a good idea to use your own ad tracker then you can follow the click-throughs to your site and gawk how many actually lead to a sale.

Some banner exchange companies will actually design the banner for you as part of their program.Although I suggest you design, ( or have designed ) your own banners.If you are going to let the banner exchange company design it for you, make sure it is on target.Some of these companies use software that automatically creates your banner untouched by human hands and unseen by human eyes, until it gets to yours.As with any type of advertising, the design, wording and call to action of your banner is quite important.

Since the purpose of a banner is to stop, interrupt really, the surfer’s train of thought, clicking on a banner is an impulse decision.People need a reason to make an impulse decision so you need to give them one.The following are some tips to help generate the highest click-through rate possible:
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-???? Have a call to action.Always say”click here”on your banner, or some variation thereof.I know this sounds overly simple, but it is often overlooked and can easily double your click-through rates.
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-???? Add a button.Placing the words”click here”into an actual or obvious button on your banner improves response.
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-???? There’s no room for subtlety in banners.Your banner should scream your message.
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-???? Try posing questions:”Want to save 15 % on your car insurance in 15 minutes?”? Questions work better than statements, particularly when they’re used to tease your audience.Studies have shown that by changing a statement to a question you can raise your click-through rate by 16 %.
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-???? If appropriate use humor.Make sure it’s actually funny and get some others opinions first.Quite often something that might be funny to you, other people may not get.
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-???? Use bright primary colors.Brighter colors attract visitor’s eyes.Blue, green, and yellow elicit the most click-throughs.Stay away from transparent colors either in the foreground or background-they tend to get lost among the colors of most websites so stick with solids.
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-???? Use simple animation.Moving images and blinking animation attract visitors to your banner.Strategic use of movement grabs attention more effectively than static banners.Don’t make them too wild or complicated so the message gets lost, the senses are overloaded and/or the file size is too large.
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-???? Offer a reward or free gift when someone clicks on your banner.It will help motivate people to click.Contests also work well, especially if you’re giving away money.Money is the biggest motivator.
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-???? Run a series of banners.It may take more than one message to tell your story or to go after a particular market.Run a series of banners and vary your message.Keep you message consistent and catchy to make your visitors want to read further.After the fourth impression of the same banner, most people tend to subconsciously block it out in their mind.
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-???? Keep the copy short.Think billboard advertising-the average person spends six seconds looking at a billboard and you have less than a third of that time on the web.Write compelling copy.Use action words that motivate.
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-???? Use italics if you can.Although they don’t have a huge impact, they can increase click-through rates by a few percentage points when compared with standard typefaces.
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-???? Create curiosity.A large number of those who click on ads do so because they are curious.Studies show that curious clickers very widely by demographic and other characteristics, so targeting based on curiosity can be very effective when you have a general interest product or service.
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-???? Use wide banners or tall skyscraper banners.They’re clicked on significantly more than smaller, skinnier, or square banners.?
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-???? Make your banner file size is small, so it loads quickly; 10-30kb is typical for a 468 by 60 pixel banner.
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Some Tips on Implementing Banner Ad Campaigns
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First, determine if you think it would be worth it to participate in a banner ad campaign.Consider the banner costs, compared to an average click-through rate of half a percent, your sites’conversion rate, profit margins and customer’s LOV ( lifetime of value ).
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Determine where and on what sites you want to consider placing your banner ads, taking into consideration the cost, banner placement, payment types ( PPC, CPM, PPA ) and if it’s a targeted site or not.Find some websites that complement yours.
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Contact the site on which you wish to place your ad and ask if they have a rate card and get info on their payment options.You can also see if they offer any specials or discounts if you purchase in bulk, or even simply ask for a better deal.A lot of the time they will give you one simply because you asked.
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Read the submission guidelines.This usually covers things like:
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-???????? Maximum file size
-???????? File types accepted ( commonly.gif,.jpg and flash -.swf )
-???????? Accepted banner sizes
-???????? Deadlines for submission and review
-???????? How many banners can you submit for rotating campaigns? How often do they rotate the banners?
-???????? How do they determine where your banner is placed on each page?
-???????? Do you pay for placement or is it random?
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Keep track of all your banner statistics.Even though the company you are advertising with may do this for you, it’s also a good idea to track it yourself.This way you can track and determine results like your conversion rate, ROI, CPC ( cost per click ) and click-through rate for each banner.

All in all, banner advertising can be a key part of your online marketing campaign.Depending on all of the key factors mentioned above, it may or may not be a financially feasible part of your marketing campaign, if it can make you a profit.If it can’t, don’t sweat it, there’s tons of other ways to cost effectively market your business online.

17
Nov
08

Banner Advertising

Banner ads can be one of the a lot of accepted means to advance articles and casework on the Internet field. Usually amid at the top of the website, which is the capital ambition of banner ads is to draw absorption to the website visitors clicks on ads it to the bell-ringer for added advice about this art fact or account getting advertised.

Make a banner ad

Banner ads begins with the abstraction and conception of commercial banners. Was originally developed as a individual image, which calm with the HTML code, which is getting developed for the website developer. Today, banner ads are created with the conception of software programs that acquiesce developers to add action to add a banner ad to action to visitors to this site.

Through a axial server advertising, the assorted accordant  banner  ads are uploaded to a Web page. Typically, banner ads on called uploaded to the web browser, which is frequently accepted as an impression, are the ones that are agnate to the agreeable of Web pages are visited. For example, if the Web, a Web company commodity about how to adapt and plan a ancestors vacation, banner ads, which would be beatific may be that on-line biking agencies that anniversary packages.

Advantages of the use of banners

While some online companies accept started to use added methods of online advertising, banderole ads still one of the a lot of able and for abounding reasons. One acumen is that abounding web browsers to configure their browser to block pop-up ads. Whereas, banderole ads are chip into a Web page that is apparent on the abeyant client, not the accountable is blocked. As such, is able to present their articles or casework to a added audience, clashing added forms of commercial on the Internet.

Another acumen is that banderole ads can be developed so that companies with an on-line abstracts on the amount of visitors to its website through banderole ads. Through this information, on-line business entrepreneurs have to be able to actuate which sites the a lot of cartage and those which do not. As a result, can abate their amount of advertising.

Finally, banner ads do not crave huge bandwidth to be displayed, even admitting it is an activated banderole ad. Often banner ad is displayed faster than the absolute capacity of a Web page is displayed that these ads are added accomplished and allure abeyant consumers or customers.

13
Nov
08

Internet Advertising

Traditional media, in today’s awful aggressive world, has accepted to be bereft in accomplishing any advertisers’ burdensome standards – of adeptness and chump interaction. The alternate Internet is the band-aid to the your requirements, back it is a two-way interpersonal advice medium, with key appropriate factors of acknowledgment and alternation in absolute time. It is Interactive, Interpersonal & Amount able – these are but a few of the abounding advantages that the Internet, as an bartering average offers. The Internet offers absolute low amount amplitude compared to the amount and bound accommodation of acceptable media and the adeptness to accurately admeasurement admirers usage. Every day millions of new users absorb accretion amounts of time online. And that’s area the befalling lies – for every minute spent online is an bartering befalling for you.

Internet bartering is actual agnate to TV and radio advertising. The programs are offered as a chargeless service; bartering commercial pays the expenses. The aforementioned is accurate of Internet advertising. The advice is free, with the costs defrayed by advertising. A above advantage of Internet bartering is the adeptness to allure a specific ambition audience. This advantage is bound or absent in added forms of media advertising. With the Internet, ads are directed appear the appropriate accumulation of people. Internet ads are accepted as banners. Virtually all banners are links to added sites, but there are still those few that are just meant to be seen, like billboards. One advantage of Internet bartering is that it opens new possibilities to advance letters to a targeted audience. By bartering to a accurate group, affairs of success are absolutely great.

10
Nov
08

MORE ABOUT BANNER ADS

Love them or hate them, banner ads are one of the dominant forms of advertising online. Due to the widespread acceptance of the standard 468×60 banner ad size, buyers can easily secure placements at most sites, and publishers can accept ads from most advertisers.

Banner ads were initially judged primarily on the basis of click-through rate (CTR). In the early days of the Web, click-through rates were generally much higher than they are now, perhaps due to the novelty factor. Other causes for the decline in CTR may include technical limitations, the awkward horizontal shape, poor banner design, an excessive percentage of run-of-network buys, and accumulated bad experiences of Web surfers.

“Banners never work” is a common refrain from the anti-banner crowd. Although click-through rates have gone consistently downward, the same can be said of banner ad prices. It is still possible to achieve a click-through rate many times the industry average by combining good placement and design. Combining below-average ad rates and above-average response rates can lead to an acceptable return on investment, just as in any other advertising medium.

06
Nov
08

Banner Ads

A web banderole or banderole ad is a anatomy of commercial on the World Advanced Web. This anatomy of online commercial entails embedding an advertisement into a web page. It is advised to allure cartage to a website by bond to the website of the advertiser. The advertisement is complete from an angel (GIF, JPEG, PNG), JavaScript affairs or multimedia commodity employing technologies such as Silverlight, Java, Shockwave or Flash, generally employing action or complete to aerate presence. Images are usually in a high-aspect arrangement appearance (i.e. either advanced and short, or alpine and narrow) appropriately the advertence to banners. These images are usually placed on web pages that accept absorbing content, such as a bi-weekly commodity or an assessment piece.

Typical web banner, sized 468×60 pixels.

The web banderole is displayed if a web page that references the banderole is loaded into a web browser. This accident is accepted as an “impression”. If the eyewitness clicks on the banner, the eyewitness is directed to the website advertised in the banner. This accident is accepted as a “click through”. In abounding cases, banners are delivered by a axial ad server.

When the advertiser scans their logfiles and detects that a web user has visited the advertiser’s website from the agreeable website by beat on the banderole ad, the advertiser sends the agreeable provider some baby bulk of money (usually about 5 to ten US cents). This aftereffect arrangement is generally how the agreeable provider is able to pay for the Internet admission to accumulation the agreeable in the aboriginal place.

Web banners action the aforementioned way as acceptable advertisements are advised to function: advice consumers of the artefact or account and presenting affidavit why the customer should accept the artefact in question, although web banners alter in that the after-effects for advertisement campaigns may be monitored real-time and may be targeted to the viewer’s interests.

Many web surfers absorption these advertisements as awful annoying because they abstract from a web page’s absolute agreeable or decay bandwidth. (Of course, the purpose of the banderole ad is to allure absorption and abounding advertisers try to get absorption to the advert by authoritative them annoying. Without alluring absorption it would accommodate no acquirement for the advertiser or for the agreeable provider.) Newer web browsers generally cover options to attenuate pop-ups or block images from called websites. Another way of alienated banners is to use a proxy server that blocks them, such as Privoxy.

03
Nov
08

Using Banner Ads to Promote Your Website

We are in a period when banner advertising seems to be on the wane. You know, those rectangular, flashing boxes at the top of webpages on commercial sites. Click-through rates have dipped to 0.39% average and the industry magazines regularly carries articles discussing the death of banner ads. But while banner ads aren’t as effective as they once were, the truth is that a great many companies, large and small, still use banner ads as part of their advertising mix and will continue to do so. Nevertheless, advertisers are becoming more sophisticated about when and how to use banner ads.

Defining Terms

To explore this broad and evolving type of advertising we need to begin by defining some terms:

Hits — A fuzzy term meaning the number of times a webserver has been “hit” by a request for a webpage or a graphic image. Since perhaps 5 out 6 “hits” are for graphic images, the number of “hits” can be grossly misleading. Usually people mean by “hits” the number of times a webpage has been seen, but to be precise, the better term is “page views” or “page impressions.”

Page impressions or page views — Refers to the number of times a webpage has been requested by the server.

Banner views — Refers to the number of times a banner has been viewed. Almost the same as “page views,” but some banner server programs don’t count the banner view unless the visitor stays on the page long enough for the banner to be fully downloaded from the banner server.

CPM — A metric from the print days of advertising, meaning “Cost Per Thousand,” using the Roman numeral “M” to stand for one thousand. A price of $15 CPM means, $15 for every thousand times a banner is displayed.

Banner ad — An ad graphic hyperlinked to the URL of the advertiser. These are usually animated GIF images, though we are seeing an increasing number of MacroMedia Flash banners. The full banner size is 468 x 60 pixels, and most sites limit the file size of the graphic to 12K to 16K. The Internet Advertising Bureau (IAB) specifies eight different “standard” banner sizes. http://www.iab.net/iab_banner_standards/bannersource.html

Creative — “Ad-speak” for the actual banner graphic.

Click — When a visitor clicks her mouse on a banner ad, she is transferred to the advertiser’s site. The number of responses to a banner ad is sometimes refereed to as the number of “clicks.”

Click Throughs — Same as “click,” commonly used to count the number of visitors who click on the banner and are transferred to the advertiser’s site.

Click Through Rate (CTR) — The percentage of click throughs to banner views. A 1% CTR means that 1% of each 1000 banner views (or 10 visitors) have clicked through.

Conversion Rate — The percentage of shoppers in an online store who actually make a purchase. This is typically 1% to 5% in online stores, but can be lower or higher.

Cookies — Small files written to your computer when you view a banner ad, visit a website, or put a product in a shopping cart. This helps the banner server to keep from showing you the same ad, or perhaps show you ads you might be more interested in seeing. Cookies are controversial, but are here to stay; too much of the Web is run by cookies to get rid of them. Cookies also allow an advertiser to track which banner ad a visitor saw that brought him to the advertiser’s site, and which banner ads resulted in actual sales.

Run of Site (ROS) — Refers to displaying a banner ad throughout a website or a banner network with no targeting by keyword or site category. Run of site advertising costs substantially less than more targeted advertising.

31
Oct
08

some sample of banners ads

These types of ads can be be used to target the various people to make  traffic.skyscrapper nad banners  are more effective than the buttons ads cause they are not caught by the user eyes as the big banner and the skyscrapper.so if you are earning money by making blogs or by sites you can use the skyscrapper and banners.and if you want to place your ads and want to make a regular traffic you can use ooge ads for you your help as it is the booming ads placinf company now a days.

23
Oct
08

Standard ad size

The Universal Ad Package (UAP) is a set of four ad sizes that all compliant member publishers have agreed to support. This standard is published by the Interactive Advertising Bureau.

* 300 x 250 - (Medium Rectangle)
* 180 x 150 - (Rectangle)
* 160 x 600 - (Wide Skyscraper)
* 728 x 90 - (Leaderboard)